## **H**\(\text{LIF}\(\text{X}\)

## OFFICIAL SWEARING-IN CEREMONY FOR MAYOR AND MEMBERS OF HALIFAX REGIONAL COUNCIL NOVEMBER 5, 2024

November 5, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. marked the official Swearing-In ceremony of the Halifax Regional Council at Paul O'Regan Hall at the Halifax Central Library, 5440 Spring Garden Road, Halifax, as a result of the regular election held on October 19, 2024.

Jerid Watton, Outreach & Research Coordinator, Indigenous Services gave the Mi'kmaq Welcome.

Tamar Pryor Brown, Senior Advisor, African Nova Scotian Affairs Integration Office gave the African Nova Scotian Affirmation.

Issam Wade, President, Conseil communautaire du Grand-Havre gave the Acadian Affirmation.

Master of Ceremonies, Cathie O'Toole, Chief Administrative Officer called the meeting to order followed by the official procession. O'Toole introduced His Honour The Honourable Arthur J. LeBlanc, ONS, KC, Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia and Her Honour Mrs. Patsy LeBlanc. O'Toole announced the singing of the Honour Song and O Canada. O'Toole provided remarks on municipal government.

O'Toole introduced The Honourable Michael J. Wood, Chief Justice of Nova Scotia present to officiate. Iain MacLean, Returning Officer declared the election results and the official Swearing-In ceremony commenced.

Members of Halifax Regional Council sworn in by Chief Justice Wood were:

## Mayor

Andy Fillmore

## Councillors

District 1	Waverley – Fall River – Musquodoboit Valley	Cathy Deagle Gammon
District 2	Lawrencetown – The Lakes – Chezzetcook – Eastern Shore	David Andrew Hendsbee
District 3	Dartmouth South – Woodside – Eastern Passage	Becky Kent
District 4	Cole Harbour – Preston – Westphal – Cherry Brook	Trish Purdy
District 5	Dartmouth Centre	Sam Austin
District 6	Dartmouth East – Burnside	Tony Elio Mancini
District 7	Halifax South Downtown	Laura Elizabeth Creelman White
District 8	Halifax Peninsula North	Virgina Lynn Hinch
District 9	Halifax West Armdale	Shawn Philip Cleary
District 10	Halifax – Bedford Basin West	Kathryn Morse
District 11	Spryfield – Sambro Loop	Patricia M. Cuttell
District 12	Timberlea – Beechville – Clayton Park – Wedgewood	Janet Elizabeth Steele
District 13	Prospect Road – St. Margarets	Nancy Hartling
District 14	Hammonds Plains – Upper Hammonds Plains – Lucasville –	John A. Young
	Middle & Upper Sackville	
District 15	Lower Sackville – Beaver Bank	William J. Gillis
District 16	Bedford – Wentworth	Jean A.J. St-Amand

Following remarks from His Honour The Honourable Arthur J. LeBlanc, ONS, KC, Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, Mayor Andy Fillmore and O'Toole, and singing of God Save the King, the meeting adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

lain MacLean Municipal Clerk